The Group of Eight Australia (English: The Group of Eight, abbreviated Go8), also known as Australia's eight prestigious universities, is Australia's long-established and internationally renowned eight research-oriented comprehensive universities, widely recognized as the Australian version of the Ivy League. They have always been a leader in the Southern Hemisphere and the Pacific region, and have nearly 70% of the Australian government's education and research budget. The Group of Eight Australia is headquartered in Canberra, the Australian capital. In addition to the outstanding research results and first-class scientific research talents, the vast academic resources of the Group of Eight Australia have a profound influence on the outstanding contributions of politics and economy. Not only are there many outstanding alumni in the political and business area around the world, but also cultivated a number of Nobel Prize winners.


Monash University

Monash University (MU) is located in Melbourne, Australia, and is one of Australia's largest comprehensive universities. With 75 independent research centers and 17 collaborative research centers, the school is known for its outstanding research and innovation capabilities. Since its establishment, Monash University has been widely recognized internationally for its excellent teaching quality and world-leading research results, and is also popular among students and employers. Its colleges are also growing rapidly, with the five campuses in Melbourne, South Africa, Malaysia, China and Singapore.

Superiority: Economics, Information Technology, Education, Art Design, Law

Monash University
The Australian National University

The Australian National University (ANU), located in Canberra, Australia, is the only university in Australia that has been specifically enacted by the Federal Parliament. ANU enjoys a high reputation internationally in  teaching and research level and is known as the “first academic center in the southern hemisphere”. Three of Australia's four national research institutes are located on the campus of the Australian National University. As the only “national” qualification in Australia, it has matured into a comprehensive university integrating research and teaching.

Superiority: Architecture, Education, Accounting, Medicine, Nursing, Finance

The Australian National University
The University of Adelaide

The University of Adelaide (UA), located in Adelaide, in southern Australia, was founded in 1874 and is the third university in Australian history. The University of Adelaide has an excellent tradition – innovation and high-quality research and excellent teaching guarantee students' learning. The school constantly improves itself, enhances its faculty, and creates more opportunities for entrepreneurship. On four different campuses, the University of Adelaide provides students with a complete, intimate learning and living environment.

Superiority: Wine and Food, Biological Sciences, Physical Science, Environmental Science, Environmental Science

The University of Adelaide
The University of Melbourne

Located in Melbourne, Australia, the University of Melbourne (UMEL) was founded in 1853 and is one of Australia's oldest universities. Its comprehensive ranking and academic reputation lead Australia all year round. It ranks in the top 50 among world universities, and has entered the top 30 many times. The graduates of the University of Melbourne have crossed between Australia's political, economic, cultural and other fields. Their academic and scientific achievements have contributed greatly to Australia's economic development in the Asia-Pacific region.

Superiority: Education, Accounting, MBA, Finance, Law, Nursing

The University of Melbourne
The University of Queensland

The University of Queensland (UQ) is located in Brisbane, Australia and is the first comprehensive university in Queensland. The University of Queensland is also a founding member of the 21st Century University Alliance and has an international reputation for teaching and research. The school has a complete and advanced hardware facilities, a diverse campus, and a convenient student service to provide students with a dynamic and international learning environment.

Superiority: Biology, Medicine, Building Environment, Education, Humanities

The University of Queensland
The University of Sydney

The University of Sydney (USYD) is a world-class research institution located in Sydney, Australia's largest city. It was founded in 1850 and is the first university in Oceania. The University of Sydney is one of Australia's six Sandstone Universities and a member of the core of the Group of Eight's universities in Australia. One of the member of the internationally renowned Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU), and The Pacific Asian Consortium for International Business Education and Research (PACIBER). It ranks at 38th in 2013-2014 QS global ranking. For a century and a half, The University of Sydney graduates have taken control of Australia's political and economic lifeline. Alumni include three of Australia's current six federal judges, six Australian prime ministers (including current Prime Minister Tony Ebert), 23 Supreme Court judges, UN General Assembly President, World Bank President, and three Nobel Prizes. The winner, two Crawford Award winners and 100 Rhodes Scholar winners; at the same time, the Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia, the president of the investment bank Macquarie Bank and other well-known political and business people graduated from the University of Sydney.

Superiority: Medicine, Law, Education, Humanities

The University of Sydney
The University of Western Australia

Located in Perth, Western Australia, the University of Western Australia was founded in 1911 and is not only one of the Group of Eight in Australia, but also the best five-star university in Australia. Emphasis on research and education is a feature of the University of Western Australia, and its graduates are always ahead of other universities in the West in terms of full-time employment, and are among the best in the Australian university statistics. The University of Western Australia attaches great importance to internationalization and diversified campus culture, so it is equipped with advanced teaching facilities and supporting services. Enjoy a good reputation among the majority of students.


Superiority: Dentistry, Accounting, Electrical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Mining, Natural Sciences

The University of Western Australia
The University of New South Wales

The University of New South Wales (UNSW) is located in Sydney, Australia and is one of the world's leading comprehensive universities. Not only a member of the 21st Century University Group, but also the top ten universities in the Asia Pacific region. In the latest 2014-2015 QS World University Rankings, ranked 48th. Since its establishment, the University of New South Wales has gradually reformed and improved its self-construction with the needs of society and the times, and has gradually become a world-renowned institution. Its business school, the Australian Business School (ASB), the world's largest business school, is also the cradle of Australian business elites.


Superiority: Engineering, Accounting, Finance, Law, Social Sciences

UNSW Sydney

Tel: (03) 8626 9300 | Fax: (03) 8626 9399

Working Hour

Mon - Fri: 9.30am - 6pm

iae Edu Net Melbourne
Founded in 2001, the company has been committed to providing education and immigration services for 17 years, providing service to an average of 3,000 international students each year.
Melbourne Office

Level 5, 250 Collins St

Melbourne VIC 3000

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Copyright © 2018 iae Edu Net Melbourne

Developed by Melin Liu